Welcome to Baccalieu: Crossroads For Cultures


Arrival from Europe. (Prepared for Baccalieu: Crossroads for Cultures by Baccalieu Consulting, ©2005)
Arrival from Europe. (Prepared for Baccalieu: Crossroads for Cultures by Baccalieu Consulting, ©2005)

Baccalieu: Crossroads for Cultures is a completely bilingual website specifically designed and written for young people, although people of any age can enjoy the content. Educational activities have been included which are intended to be used by teachers or parents with students.

For thousands of years, people of many cultures have lived on the Baccalieu Trail enjoying the bounty from the sea and the land. The Portuguese fishermen were impressed by the reports of schools of fish, especially codfish, near Newfoundland. The name "Baccalieu” is derived either from the Spanish bacalao or the Basque baccalos, both terms meaning “codfish.”  In fact, Newfoundland bears the name of "Terra de Bacallaos" ("land of cod") on 16th century maps.

Baccalieu: Crossroads for Cultures begins when John Guy and a group of English colonists landed in Cupers Cove in August, 1610, to set up the first official English settlement in what is today the country of Canada. One of the colonists' goals was to set up a fur trade with the Beothuk, an aboriginal people who had been living in the region for hundreds of years. When Cupers Cove was first settled, the area was being visited by migratory fishermen and pirates from a number of European nations, including England, France, Spain, and Portugal. Baccalieu: Crossroads for Cultures weaves a tale about how people from different cultures interacted from the start of settlement for a period of about 100 years until the Treaty of Utrecht in 1713, which gave England control of the Island of Newfoundland.

Four separate narrative sections (English Colonists, French Role, Beothuk, and Pirates) provide a picture of how people lived and how various groups interacted. Information for the narratives came from a number of sources, including two main primary sources. One primary source was the letters, journals, and books in English and French which were written between three or four hundred years ago. Several of these documents have been transcribed in modern text and appear on the website. The other primary source consisted of the archaeological sites and artifacts found and interpreted by the Baccalieu Trail Heritage Corporation with Chief Archaeologist William Gilbert. A selection of artifacts is displayed on the website. It is exciting to think that these are actual items that people from various cultures touched and used in their daily lives during the 17th century.

The Educational Activities invite teachers or parents to guide students through learning experiences. From the activities students will discover how John Guy's colonists survived in a new and often hostile environment, how the Beothuk hunted and lived, how the English and French fought for the region, and how the pirates raided and preyed upon the people of many nations who fished the waters off Newfoundland.

A large partnership of regional groups and many talented people (including web designers, database developers, archaeologists, teachers, graphic artists, researchers, writers, translators. and visual artists) have cooperated with the Eastern School District, and Heritage Canada to make a portal to the past that can be enjoyed by people of all ages!

Â

Bienvenue sur le projet : Carrefour des cultures


Venus d'Europe. (Conu par Baccalieu Consulting, 2005 pour Baccalieu : Carrefour des cultures)
Venus d'Europe. (Conu par Baccalieu Consulting, 2005 pour Baccalieu : Carrefour des cultures)

Le site web entièrement bilingue Baccalieu : Carrefour des cultures, est conçu et écrit pour les jeunes de niveau scolaire mais on peut en apprécier le contenu à n'importe quel âge. Les élèves peuvent compléter les trente activités éducatives avec leurs parents ou leurs enseignants.

Il y a des milliers d'années que des personnes de diverses cultures vivent sur le sentier Baccalieu, profitant des richesses de la mer et de la terre. Les pêcheurs portugais étaient impressionnés par les récits qu'on leur faisait de bancs de poissons au large de Terre-Neuve. Sur certaines cartes anciennes, on nomme Terre-Neuve "Terra de Bacallaos"" (terre de la morue). L'histoire de Baccalieu : Carrefour des cultures commence à l'arrivée de John Guy à Cupers Cove en août 1610, accompagné des colons qui venaient établir la première colonie anglaise dans ce qui allait devenir le Canada. Un des objectifs des colons était de faire la traite des fourrures avec les Béothuks, peuple autochtone qui vivait dans la région depuis des centaines d'années. Au début de la colonisation de Cupers Cove, la région était fréquentée par des pêcheurs migrants et des pirates venant de plusieurs pays d'Europe, en particulier l'Angleterre, la France, l'Espagne et le Portugal. Le site Baccalieu : Carrefour des cultures raconte comment des peuples de différentes cultures se sont cotoyés au début de la colonie et pendant une centaine d'années, jusqu'au traité d'Utrecht en 1713, date à laquelle l'Angleterre prit possession de l'île de Terre-Neuve.

La chronique de la vie des personnes vivant dans cette région et de leurs relations est présentée dans les récits divisés en quatre sections (Colons anglais, Rôle des Français, Béothuks et Pirates). Les récits proviennent de diverses sources, en particulier deux sources primaires : l'une étant les lettres, les journaux et les livres écrits en anglais et en français il y a trois ou quatre cents ans. Plusieurs de ces documents ont été transcrits en langage moderne et ils sont affichés dans le site web. La deuxième source primaire provient des fouilles archéologiques et les objets trouvés et interprétés par la société Baccalieu Trail Heritage, sous la direction de l'archéologue en chef William Gilbert. On trouve dans le site web une sélection des objets façonnés ou artéfacts. Il est intéressant de penser que ces objets ont été touchés et utilisés par des peuples de cultures variées dans leur vie quotidienne, au 17e siècle.

Les activités éducatives de Carrefour des cultures sont destinées aux enseignants et aux parents qui souhaitent guider les élèves dans leur apprentissage. Ils découvriront comment les colons de John Guy survécurent dans ce nouvel environnement souvent hostile, comment les Béothuks chassaient et vivaient, comment les Anglais et les Français se faisaient la guerre pour s’établir dans la région et comment les pirates effectuaient leurs raids et s’en prenaient aux peuples qui pêchaient dans les eaux de Terre-Neuve.

C??est grâce au partenariat entre des groupes régionaux et plusieurs personnes de talent (y compris des concepteurs de sites web, de bases de données, d??archéologues, d??enseignants, de graphistes, de chercheurs, de rédacteurs, de traducteurs et d??artistes visuels) et le district scolaire Eastern ainsi que le ministère Patrimoine canadien que ce site a été réalisé pour servir de portail vers le passé, et que tous ceux qui le visitent l??apprécie et en profitent!